Sponsored by:

sponsor.name }}

Truth and Triumph
Stella Boyle Smith Masterworks Series

Location: Robinson Center Music Hall (directions)
Price Range: None

New Subscribers Save 50%!

Philip Mann, conductor
Jennifer Higdon, composer

February 23, 2013
Saturday at 8:00pm

February 24, 2013
Sunday at 3:00pm


    Higdon Concerto for Orchestra About this piece
    Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 in E Minor, Op. 93 About this piece

In a season highlight, hear the ASO fill the Robinson stage with its full orchestral forces in a program of breathtaking power and expressive range. Shostakovich’s awe-inspiring Tenth Symphony provides an opportunity for the talents, energy, and artistry of your ASO musicians to be showcased to their fullest. Premiered shortly after Stalin’s death in the USSR, this work is a product of its time, but is also imbued with timeless themes seemingly even more evocative today. Shostakovich the man is found in the very notes of the score and the transcendent power of music is displayed as he prevails in a popular masterpiece that begins with tragedy, terror, and violence but leads to an explosive and unforgettably triumphant conclusion.

ASO Composer of the Year, Jennifer Higdon, is highlighted in her Concerto for Orchestra, and the penchant for writing absorbing and compelling melodies that has endeared her to audiences worldwide is on display. Her virtuosity and range as a composer is explored fully in a work of creative contrast, Technicolor orchestration, propulsive rhythms, and an infectious vitality. The Concerto helped to cement Higdon’s position as one of the greatest living composers and in adding to the concerto tradition, she goes beyond highlighting principal musicians, and showcases entire sections, including the percussion with fresh and innovative sounds.