Phone: 501-666-1761 | Email:

Beethoven, Ludwig - Romance No. 2 in F Major, Op. 50

Romance No. 2 in F Major, Op. 50
Ludwig van Beethoven
b. Bonn, Germany / December 15, 1770; d. Vienna, Austria / March 26, 1827

Beethoven’s two Romances for violin and orchestra date from the first years of the nineteenth century. Their origins remain obscure. Some writers see them as dry runs for the slow movement of the masterful, full scale Concerto in D Major that he composed in 1806. Whatever the case, they are charming and gracious works. This is the more impassioned of the two. It also places the greater technical demands upon the soloist. Toward the centre, a few emotional clouds cross the sky. The mood becomes slightly troubled but never seriously so, and not for long.

Program Notes by Don Anderson © 2018

Season Sponsors

  • acxiom.jpg
  • ar_arts.jpg
  • LR_cvb.jpg
  • simmons_logo_season_sponsor.JPG
  • stella_boyl.jpg

Subscribe and Save

New Subscribers SAVE 50%

Subscribe Online

Donate Now

A donation to ASO puts instruments in the hands of children, makes live symphonic music accessible to all Arkansans, and makes it possible for world-class musicians to call Arkansas home. 

Every dollar counts, and each donation helps ensure a sustainable, thriving future for ASO.

Entergy Kids Ticket

entergykids ticket module

2019-2020 Season Brochure

 2019-2020 Season Brochure - Page 1

2019-2020 Season Brochure - Page 2