Kabalevsky, Dmitri - Overture to Colas Breugnon, Op. 24

Overture to Colas Breugnon, Op. 24
Dmitri Kabalevsky
b. St. Petersburg, Russia / December 30, 1904; d. Moscow, Russia / February 14, 1987

Kabalevsky may not have been the most profound composer whom the Soviet Union produced, but his appealing and soundly crafted music provides a welcome foil to the dull, bombastic creations of many of his more ambitious and intellectual contemporaries, Russian or otherwise.

The literary source of his opera Colas Breugnon (1938) was a novel by French author Romain Rolland. The story takes place during the sixteenth century in the village of Clamecy in France. Colas Breugnon, the town’s master sculptor and craftsman, is a free spirit and an incurable optimist. At the opera’s première, the music won praise but the libretto received sharp criticism. Kabalevsky completed a major and successful revision in 1968. During those intervening decades, the score remained in view only through the brightly colored, impish and rhythmically bracing overture, a portrait of the opera’s title character.

Program Notes by Don Anderson © 2017

Subscribe and Save

New Subscribers SAVE 30%

Subscribe Online

Donate Now

A donation to ASO puts instruments in the hands of children, makes live symphonic music accessible to all Arkansans, and makes it possible for world-class musicians to call Arkansas home. 

Every dollar counts, and each donation helps ensure a sustainable, thriving future for ASO.

Entergy Kids Ticket

entergykids ticket module

Season Sponsors

  • acxiom.jpg
  • ar_arts.jpg
  • LR_cvb.jpg
  • simmons_logo_season_sponsor.JPG
  • stella_boyl.jpg